Home > Player Blogs, Runehako's Blog > Stable Talk by Knight-Lieutenant Runehako

Stable Talk by Knight-Lieutenant Runehako

Before I begin, here is a quick introduction of myself. Half of the 2v2 Arena team, Porchmonkeys (don’t worry, I’m taking it back), I am Knight-Lieutenant Runehako, a Beast Master, Dwarf, Hunter. This is my first of many “toons” and I have been playing since about a month or two before The Burning Crusade was released. So yes, that Knight-Lieutenant title was earned back in the old days.

All this stout man loves to do is participate in Battlegrounds and Arena. But, when I am not in a secluded area “Pew-Pew-ing” Hordies’ faces off, I am tending my stables! And what may you ask I do with my stables? Well, I fill it up of course! But, only do the most prestigious, unique and emotionally attached pets make it in this stable. This is the topic of this post. Specifically, 6 unique pets, tips on how to acquire them and my experience catching them and most importantly, naming them! So, if you don’t care about any of this, I suggest you stop reading this and go Tailor something.

So, why 6 pets you may ask? Because, as Sly and the Family Stone once said, it’s a family affair. I speak of my favorite family of pets, the Spirit Beasts!

Impressed by Spirit Beast excess

Image Location: NPC Name(Location)_Pet Name

Top Left: Skoll (Storm Peaks)_Kiedis

Top Middle: Arcturis (Grizzly Hills)_Flea

Top Right: Loque’nahak (Sholazar Basin)_Frusciante

Bottom Left: Gondria (Zul’Drak)_Chad

Bottom Middle: Karoma (Twilight Highlands)_Hillel

Bottom Right: Ghostcrawler (Abyssal Depths)_Klinghoffer

These are currently all Spirit Beasts in game prior to the 4.2 patch. You may have noticed my naming scheme given to these pets. If not, then I feel sorry for your ears. But, enough pitying your sense of hearing. If you are a collector of any kind and happen to be a Hunter, it would be a shame not to have a Beast Master spec even if it’s just to tame Exotic Beasts! As a matter of fact, that is how I became a BM Hunter to begin with! I dropped my WoTLK Survival spec and picked up BM because I ran across one of these marvelous creatures and had to put a bullet in its head due to the fact that I could not tame Exotic Beasts! What a shame… After that act of cruelty, I decided to become BM and apologize to the Spirit Beast family by taming them all and forcing them to do my bidding on demand. Apology accepted for sure!

I am not going to explain the exact spawn location because all but 1 of these beasts have numerous spawn locations and Wowhead or Thottbot will do a way better job explaining it than I would ever do. But, I will indeed hand you tips on how to catch them!

First, download NPC Scan. This is a WoW Add-On that yells at you and lights up your screen and pops up and image of the NPC for you at the moment that any rare spawn is picked up. A con of this add-on is that it will go off even if the rare spawn’s carcass is found. If this happens, you need to exit WoW and clear your npccache file in your cache folder. Another con is that if you run into another Hunter with the rare spawn you are pursuing, it will also go off. Yeah, I know its lame but it’s a small price to pay to have the Red Hot Chili Peppers in your stables! =P

If you are not an add-on person, here is a macro you can create to catch these marvelous creatures:

/target INSERT NAME OF NPC HERE

/stopmacro [noexists]

/run RaidNotice_AddMessage(RaidBossEmoteFrame,”THERE IT IS! Tame Him!”, ChatTypeInfo[“RAID_WARNING”])

/script PlaySoundFile(“Sound\\interface\\RaidWarning.wav”)

As a personal note, I used this following macro to catch 3 of the 6 spirit beasts. I was not aware NPC Scan existed at that time, hehe. What this macro will do for you is target the NPC and “yell” a Raid Warning message at you. If you want, you can add a /cast Tame beast at the end of the macro in case you happen to be that close. I highly suggest adding the /cast tame beast spell if you are camping for Arcturis, since he only spawns in one spot.

Keep in mind that all these Spirit beasts have spawn timers that usually average in the 8 hour mark. But to be completely sure, check out the WoWhead comments. Here are a couple tips when camping for these beasts:

  • Make sure to have NPC Scan on OR have the macro on your action bar!
  • If there is another player there, ask when was the last time he/she saw the beast if at all.
  • Have your sounds on! I know too many people who play WoW w/out sounds on.
  • Queue for a random heroic while you wait so time is not fully wasted! Or read a book. Or bake some cookies. Or lift some weights. Or decapitate someone with Sub Zero. Remember, NPC Scan will yell at you when it spawns so you don’t really have to be staring at the screen!
  • PATIENCE IS KEY. You can literally camp for one of these guys for weeks and not see them spawn. Took me about 3 weeks to finally tame Karoma.

Well, these are my tips to find and catch these magnificent creatures. Worked for me and it was all worth it! Now, head on out my Hunter friends and go “catch ‘em all!”

-Runehako

  1. Flonominal
    June 22, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Too informative, try again.

  2. Brandi
    June 26, 2011 at 2:44 am

    this makes me want to break out my baby hunter! Thanks for such a great article.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

